Imagine: Lennon in TV ad 28 years after his death + VIDEO.

It’s all a little outrageous don’t you think?  I mean I know that they have revived Elvis, Roy Orbison,  and Frank Sinatra, but I don’t they’ve ever done aything truly like this.  I have never seen a dead celebrity used to promote a movement. Personally, I think this ad is in truly poor taste.

Somehow, I just feel uncomfortable about all of this.  I guess if Yoko gives her blessing, then it’s OK.  Somehow I just don’t think I can justify it that’s all.  The more times I watch it, the sicker to my stomach I get actually.

Plus, you’d think they’d find a guy to do a better voice imitation. 

  • What are your thoughts on this ad?  See it below. 

Here’s what we’ve read.

Imagine, John Lennon makes a television commercial for charity — 28 years after his death.

Through the use of digital technology, the former Beatle urges people across the United States to support a campaign by “One Laptop per Child” to deliver tough, solar-powered XO laptop computers to the world’s poorest children.

“Imagine every child no matter where in the world they were could access a universe of knowledge. They would have a chance to learn, to dream, to achieve anything they want,” a voice and video image of Lennon has been created to say.

“I tried to do it through my music, but now you can do it in a very different way. You can give a child a laptop and more than imagine, you can change the world,” says the musician in a play on one his best known songs — 1971’s “Imagine.”

Lennon was shot and killed as he and his wife, Yoko Ono, arrived at their Manhattan apartment building on December 8, 1980.

Ono approved the “One Laptop per Child” commercial, which was launched on Thursday and will be shown on donated broadcast and cable time. It can also be seen at http://www.youtube.com/olpc.

The “One Laptop per Child” Foundation, created in 2005, is a spinoff from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and started producing the XO laptop late last year at a manufacturing cost per machine of less than $200.

Source: Reuters

24 Responses

  1. Too bad the voice is more Beatles Cartoon than John Lennon

  2. If it helps bring health and happiness to the world’s poor then its ok with me. Though I do wonder if pressing Western values on Eastern and African people is a good idea.

    And yeah, the impersonation was rubbish.

  3. stupid!

  4. Worst Impersonation Ever…

  5. Yoko is a very eccentric woman. Sometimes I just can’t help thinking that 8 december 1980 was a piece of Yoko arranged art. This makes me wonder all over again. Alright, that was an evil thing to say, but it’s so odd, a lot of things she does sometimes. But then again, I’m not an artist.

  6. While I agree that John probably would have approved the OLPC movement, I don’t think this commercial is the best way to go about showing that.

    At first, I was trying to figure out why John sounded so funny. Then I heard him say things the way I know John wouldn’t say them… not seriously, anyway. And it began to sound like cartoon Ringo. And then he mentioned laptops, and I knew something wasn’t right.

    If they were going to do this, they should have used a real clip of John speaking out against poverty or something. Having an impersonator speak over modified footage of John just makes the commercial seem silly. It certainly doesn’t add credence to the campaign, that’s for sure.

  7. I don’t agree on that Lennon would have agreed on being a part of this. In some of the last interviews he gave, he said he was ambarrassed about a lot of the political stuff he did in the late 60’s/early 70’s. Lennon was first and formemost a rock ‘n’ roll musician and a songwriter. Lennon, the peace activist, has been blown up and become some sort of a gimmick, that makes him look good in the aftermath of his death. He also said in 1980 that he disliked “Power to the People” and called it shit. He didn’t think clearly when he wrote it, he said. Yoko puts it on his best of records anyway, and she was her husband and lacks objectivity, so you can’t trust her doing Lennon justice. She’s the right person to judge him on a private level, but not his music or artistic career. That’s what I feel. Leave the guys legacy alone. If yoko has or will approve this ad and/or movement, then I think it’s a shame.

  8. I don’t like this.
    I like the idea of using someone who is a huge peace activist.
    But don’t imitate his voice, it just doesn’t have the same effect….

  9. I think his real voice should have been used to promote a worthier cause. I think African children need food, clothing, and peace more than they need a laptop.

  10. Why didn’t Yoko say in the add that John would have liked this charity so give to it. I think John would have hated having words literally put into his mouth, weather it was for charity or not. Yoko could have even done a voice over with Image playing in the backround. It’s a dumb add.

  11. AAARRGGHHHH!!!!!!!! Every single time one thinks that Yoko has gone way over the top with stupdity & disrespecting John’s wishes, she does something even worse than the lst time.

    John never wanted this kind of commercial crap!

  12. “Give a laptop, save the world.” Give me a break! First of all, that’s kind of stupid and secondly I don’t even think John would’ve endorsed it! And, his “voice” didn’t even sound like him! I don’t mind the idea, but at least do it for a good cause and use his real voice!

  13. We gotta suffer thru this crap–while there are no remasters! Oh wait, there’s a $400 + “White Album” pen we can purchase on the Beatles’ website. That makes up for it.;)

    Regards,
    Beatle Bob
    (Bootleg reviewer on 910, Bootlegzone, Beatleg list, etc)🙂

  14. I am disgusted…

  15. sounds like a really bad Ringo impersonater

  16. First, I can do a better John that the commercial, second, a lap top to a kid in the middle of Africa?…how about some food and medicine before the kid gets hooked on the internet and third, why didn’t Yoko just do the ad? It’s not like she’s doing anything at all these days, other than living off John’s money.

  17. Sounds like a fed up Ringo still doing the Thomas the Tank engine voiceover 20 yrs on!
    Couldn’t Sean or Julian been asked to do the voice imitation or borrow John’s real voice from his music, documentaries and newsreels?

  18. The bed-in for peace in 1969 was a totally original and creative thing to do. Nobody had ever done anything like it before. And the “Give Peace a Chance” single and the “Some Time in New York City” album was sort of a rock ‘n’ roll update of the folk song/protest song for the hippie-era and the radical 70’s. But to imagine a 68 year old John Lennon doing a spoken word commercial for laptops in 2008, that’s just silly. Paul McCartney released the artistically inventive “Electric Arguments” this year.

  19. I agree with Delboy that they should have seen if Julian Lennon or someone else could do it. Because as is, it’s utterly weird– and a crappy impersonation, as many have said. What I think I hate most of all is this thing where John is this weird peace symbol. Revolution 9 said it well above. “I tried to do it through my music”– really? I don’t think that’s why he was into rock & roll. I think he said elsewhere that it was mainly to get laid. Anyway, it just makes him more of a symbol and less of a human. A good cause, I guess, but also crap.

  20. I hate this thing.

  21. I don’t see anything wrong with giving computers to people in poverty stricken countries. You’re using a computer right now to look at this, why can’t they? They can also have food and medicine, it isn’t an either/or thing. The laptops are supposed to have educational software; it’s basically a tool to educate. I suppose the kids could use the web browser to go online and play games but so what? I know it might not seem like a big deal to us, but they might be more likely to get a job if they know how to use a web browser. It’s a wired world, what’s wrong with giving people a helping hand to keep up? That said, the campaign is all kinds of bad. John sounds like Will Millar of the Irish Rovers.

  22. That voice imitation is SO terrible! I am eleven and a girl, and I can do a better Lennon imitation than THAT junk.

Leave a Reply

