Family Game Night with Beatles’ Monopoly…

I was never lucky enough to obtain a copy of the now-collectible Beatles’ board game Flip Your Wig.  All of that was way before my time.  My mom didn’t own a copy that survived past 1968.  Sadly, I always wished that I could own one, but cannot justify the huge prices for such a collected piece.

The new Beatles-themed Monopoly game will be just enough for me to get my Beatles gaming fix.  I cannot wait to crack that puppy out on family game night.  My birthday is this week, and I’ve told my wife that I want two copies fo the game.  One to play, and one to collect.  I doubt it will be worth nearly as much as the Flip Your Wig game, but you never can be too sure these days.

 Hopefully, I just can convince a group of friends to play it.  It’s hard enough to convince them to play a full game of Monopoly, those games are like marathons.

Hopefully the birthday gods smile down on me with a nice family game night surprise or two.

Here’s what we’ve read.

Ever wondered what it would be like to play Monopoly in a Beatles world? Now you don’t have to anymore: Games manufacturer USAopoly has just recently put out Monopoly: The Beatles Collector’s Edition, the latest version of the popular board game with a Fab Four twist.

“It’s a game designed for the Beatles fan specifically,” says Maggie Matthews, USAopoly’s Vice President of Marketing, to Spinner, “and we think it’s a fun addition to that fan’s memorabilia collection.”

According to the product description, the goal here is to gives fans “the opportunity to create their own private anthology by collecting Beatles albums.” Properties on the game board include every Beatles album released during the Fab Four’s time together, from ‘Please Please Me’ to ‘Abbey Road’; the spots where “income” and “luxury tax” are usually on the original game are now represented by the songs ‘Taxman’ and ‘Ticket to Ride,’ respectively. And the pewter tokens are shaped to represent references to Beatles songs including a hammer (from ‘Maxwell’s Silver Hammer’), a walrus (‘I Am the Walrus’) and a strawberry (‘Strawberry Fields Forever’).

Longtime players will notice one difference with this version from the original game: there is no money but rather “love,” as in “The love you take is equal to the love you make,” (a reference to the 1969 Beatles song ‘The End’), says the product description.

The idea of a Beatles take on Monopoly began a few years when USAopoloy, which manufactures specialty versions of the original board game, got a license to produce Beatles’ collector puzzles. “As we considered the many excellent images available to us for puzzles,” says Matthews, “we could imagine how great a Monopoly game could be.”

The Beatles game involved the input of several of USAopoly’s employees who are also fans of the group, according to Matthews. “We [also] consulted with an array of Beatles fans outside the company,” she says, “to create what we hope is the most compelling execution of the game — while staying within certain parameters that Hasbro [which holds the trademarks to Monopoly] requires, such as leaving the four corner squares of the original game board untouched [‘GO,’ ‘In Jail/Just Visiting,’ ‘Free Parking,’ ‘Go to Jail’].”

Asked about the response from the Beatles’ Apple Corps, which approved and licensed the game, Matthews says, “We’ve been told that they are very pleased with the outcome!”

Source: Spinner

12 Responses

  1. I want this so bad, but I can’t find it anywhere?:(

    Is it even available in Canada?

    If not…will it be?

  2. It IS available in Canada… I saw it today in a shop at Metrotown Centre, in suburban Vancouver…. Vancouver’s usually the last to get “cool” stuff like this, so if we’ve got it here, then it should be everywhere.

  3. sorry, where is rss feed of your blog?

  4. Here is the RSS feed link…
    https://beatle.wordpress.com/feed/

    It’s located on the left-hand side of each page. There is also a RSS subscribe link at the top of each page under the title banner. It is on that orange RSS symbol…

  5. check out http://www.usaopoly.com to find out where to get this game or just go to amazon.com. Enjoy!

  6. Thanks, keep up your great post !

  7. when it comes to free games, i always look for free flash games because they have small file sizes ..:

  8. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my website so i came to “return the favor”.I am trying to find things to improve my site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

  9. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article writer for your site. You have some really great posts and I think I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to write some articles for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please send me an email if interested. Many thanks!

  10. Welcome, I can say thanks to you all the autor among the websites. Most of is apparent and in addition invaluable. The whole picture will also be dazzling on behalf of me. Wouldn’t you please don’t hesitate to phon for me discover the structure do you really application? appreciate it once again and additionally maintain the truly amazing perform the job.

  11. An interesting discussion is value comment. I feel that you must write extra on this topic, it may not be a taboo topic but typically individuals are not enough to talk on such topics. To the next. Cheers

  12. I used to be indecisive, but now I’m not so sure.

Leave a Reply

