Could we get a Beatle remasters announcement sooner than later?

https://i2.wp.com/latimesblogs.latimes.com/photos/uncategorized/2008/09/02/letsrock.jpg

With all of the specualtion, and recent stories surrounding the rumors regarding the remastered Beatles back catalog, we may get an announcement sooner than later.

Mojo magazine gave us some speculative rumors hinting, a few days ago, that something is in the works regarding the remastered Beatles catalog. It was just enough to whet your appetite and really churn up those rumors, and get us all hoping that the remasters are finally released correctly.

Well folks, the folks at Apple, the computer people, have an event scheduled next Tuesday.  The presentation probably revolves around new iPod and iTunes annoncements, but there is some speculation that we may hear something about the status and release of the remastered Betales’ catalog.

We will keep you posted on the status, but for now, let’s keep our fingers crossed.

Here’s what we’ve read.

The Apple invitation is being analyzed and deciphered — a fuchsia-colored man jumping with white iPod headphones. One point to anyone who guessed it would be music-related.

Most likely, the Cupertino, Calif., company will unveil a refreshed line of iPods at the Sept. 9 gathering. Maybe a few bands or musicians will perform, since the event will be held at the Yerba Buena Center for the Arts theater in San Francisco. Some speculate Apple could announce that the Beatles catalog will join iTunes.

One thing the announcement apparently won’t be about: a digital music subscription service. Music-industry sources say such a service, which Apple has been discussing for a while, isn’t going anywhere at the moment.

But think about the five stars. Decoration? Or, could it be a reference to a rating system, maybe from the users? That makes me think about a new iTunes, complete with its own social network. Apple observers have long noted that by adding social networking tools, such as ways for people to find each other and recommend and talk about music, Apple would surely sell more on iTunes. And what about the “Playing Soon?” Of course, that could be in reference to the event itself but could it also be a hint that iTunes is going to open up in a way that lets artists interact with fans, such as announce upcoming tours?

Perhaps one early sign of artist/fan interactivity: The band Snow Patrol said it would be the first artist to release an interactive album for the iPhone and iPod Touch.

As an aside, the Apple invitation cannot be good news for Billboard, which is having its Mobile Entertainment Live event, which is part of CTIA Wireless I.T. & Entertainment 2008 and happening on the very same day (one block over).

Almost at the very hour of the Apple event (will it be Steve Jobs talking?), the Billboard keynote speakers — Paul Smith, head of major label relations at Nokia, and Michael Nash, executive vice president of digital strategy and business development at Warner Music Group — will speak, no doubt facing a thinner crowd than they had expected.

Source: LA Times Blog

5 Responses

  1. We can only hope! But they’ve certainly fooled us before…

  2. I will never forget the first time I heard Eleanor Rigby on the radio. I was about 11 or 12, and my mother had the “oldies” station on. I always liked oldies music, but my ears perked up as Eleanor Rigby played. It was unlike anything I’d ever heard, old or modern. It seemed so out of place among motown hits, tom jones, and the monkees. It gave me goosebumps. Naive me at the time had no idea who the band was, but when I found out soon thereafter, I was hooked for life. I’d loved the bits and pieces of standard Beatles hits since I was a child, but the true immersion began in my preteen years and grew from there beginning with that wonderful moment. My second favorite memory would be when I purchased the Sgt. Pepper album when I was about 13. I would save up my allowance and buy a new cd every couple weeks or so, and the night I bought Sgt. Pepper it was a rainy summer night. My mother went to bed early, so there I sat on my bedroom floor with headphones connected to my cd player as I heard most of the songs on the album for the very first time. It was then I knew that no other band ever could or would make my blood run exhilliratingly cold with joy and wonderment like the Beatles did. It was like seeing the world for the first time. I can not wait to pass that feeling on to my son someday. He’s due to be born in 3 weeks, and he’s going to be called Jude. I so look forward to making Beatles accompanied memories with him that he’ll cherish as long as he lives..

  3. This is Beatle Bob (The bootleg reviewer from the Bootlegzone, 910, Beatlegyahoo List and more)….I’m sure finally when the remasters appear Jeff Jones and Apple will get it right. I’m sure that’s the only reason for the continued delay. Could you imagine not being happy with these relesaes after such delays? I don’t think they want to be embarrased ….though I am not getting any younger😉

    Regards,
    Beatle Bob🙂

  4. Remaster what? What remastered sound are we looking for? I don’t care how remastered Hey Jude is, the first time I saw it being sung on tv was the best. After that, buying the album and then cd was enough. To suggest that any Beatle song needs to be remastered implies that we didn’t like what we originally heard.

  5. GSj5Jr comment5 ,

Leave a Reply

