Beatles to Be a Part of This Season’s Idol

My wife knows my disdain for American Idol.  I know, I know….these people are very talented, and some truly can sing with the best of them.  I just must stand my ground and stick with my point about the show.  It is karaoke on speed.

I don’t like karaoke even when it’s good.  I’d rather see some one write their own songs, and play their own instruments, then simply be a performer up there.  Plus, now with this announcement, now, I really don’t want to see them butcher their way through some of my Beatle favorites.

American Idol

Here’s what we’ve read.

We can’t exactly picture Paul McCartney cozying up on the couch for a night with Simon, Randy, Paula and the American Idol kids of season seven, but the powers that be behind the Lennon-McCartney songbook (aka Sony) are giving this season the thumbs-up.

“It’s something we’ve waited for for seven seasons now. Sony has agreed to release the Lennon and McCartney songbook to us,” producer Nigel Lythgoe told Ryan Seacrest on his KIIS-FM radio show.

“Everyone’s so good this season they’re saying, ‘Yeah, go ahead, please sing the songs.’ And especially after Archuleta sang the Lennon song last night. How good was that?”

Apparently, it was good enough to get the Beatle signoff-at least, according to Sony. Though given Idol’s prior efforts to get the songs, we’re thinking this was probably a deal in the works long before young David’s rendition of “Imagine.” No offense, kid.

But what’s your take? Is this the best season ever or just hype to keep viewers coming back for more? Cast your vote below…and get all the deets in our news story.

Source: E! Online

12 Responses

  1. As much as I LOVE AI, I have always feared this day. “Imagine” is the only fab-related song that ever gets sung and I’ve always thought that Wacko Jacko was preventing them from doing Beatles songs.

    I’m sure gems like “Don’t Let Me Down” will get slaughtered but I hope some of the more soulful singers get through to the final 12. I’d love to hear an Aretha Franklinish version of “Eleanor Rigby.”

  2. I hated it when they changed “Imagine” the other night. I find it arrogant when people change the arrangements on the songs as if McCartney & Lennon didn’t quite get it right the first time. I am not really looking forward to it myself.

  3. NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOONONONONONONOONONONONONONO.

    What the hell are these people thinking? I personally don’t like American Idol anyway, except for the auditions when they make fun of people. This is ridiculous, why would they ever let people do this.

    I’m offended, as a Beatle-fanatic, that they would ever allow this to happen. The reason the songs are so good isn’t only because of the words or the music, it was WHO is singing them, too. If someone sang “Mother”, it wouldn’t have half of the meaning that it does because it’s not John singing it.

    So there’s my opinion, I’m going to go block American Idol from my programs now.

  4. I called this that night as well – I love the Beatles and tolerate Idol as a music teacher – I find the critiques and audience responses fascinating. I noticed that Apple is a big sponsor on Idol this year – is there a Beatle night on Idol that will correspond to Apple publishing Beatles’ music on iTunes? I hope so – as for the slaughtering of their music – the Beatles are playing is smart – they’re getting their music out there and in the public eye – LOVE in Las Vegas, the Accross the Universe movie last year – this is exactly the kind of thing they’d do to promote their music on iTunes for new young listeners – not us old farts that already have the LP’s.

  5. LeBlanc, I’m not sure what you are talking about. Have you ever heard Joe Cocker’s version of “With a Little Help” or Stevie Wonder’s version of “We Can Work It Out”???? It’s BETTER when they change the arrangement. That’s the beauty of Beatle music. The Elvis arangement of “Something” is amazing. Aretha doing “Let It Be,” and U2 doing “Helter Skelter.” Wow!

  6. Randy, I will give you Joe Cocker. The rest I hated. Sorry.

  7. George said that he learned the sign of a good songwriter is when lots of people sing your songs! “Yesterday” is the most covered song in history. Is this a bad thing? The Beatles themselves started out singing other people’s songs. Did they “butcher” Carl Perkins and Elvis songs? In the late 50’s John, Paul & George auditioned for a talent show as “Johnny & the Moondogs”. John didn’t even have his guitar, he just sang with his hands on Paul’s and George’s shoulders. So quit being so snobby about American Idol.

  8. OMG!
    Randy you are so stupid!
    the songs are perfect just the way they are!
    Having people cover them on AI will make them suck!
    and Cynthia, people shouldnt cover the beatles because it will never sound the same
    especially on american idol

  9. PS
    it will make the songs sound like they suck to people who havent listened to them yet

  10. not the actual songs

  11. The only good Beatles cover song is While My Guitar Gently Weeps by the late Jeff Healy. Joe Cocker is ok,th rest is crap.

    As for AI, the positive side to this horrendous event is that it will introduce the Beatles to a generation of 10-year-olds who have never heard them.

  12. I have been looking all around for all of this post. Thankfully my partner and i seen it at Bing.

Leave a Reply

