Banned Beatles get Israel invite

I’m not sure how significant this invitation really is.  I mean I know that the Fabs were quite controversial when they first cracked it big, but don’t you think an invite like this is really to long overdue?  While it is really a nice idea, part of me thinks too little too late.

I would beg to differ if George and John were still alive, but with two less Beatles in the world than originally planned, I personally don’t really see the point of this kind of invitation.  It’s not really The Beatles anymore now is it.  Maybe if Olivia and Yoko were invited too, but somehow I don’t see many folks from the Fab clan making the trip.

Here’s what we’ve read.

Israel is inviting the surviving members of The Beatles to celebrate the country’s anniversary, 43 years after it banned the group.

The Israeli ambassador to London, Ron Prosor, is meeting John Lennon’s sister, Julia Baird, in Liverpool.

He will invite Sir Paul McCartney, Ringo Starr and relatives of Lennon and George Harrison to come to Israel in May for the 60th anniversary.

Israel banned the Beatles in 1965, fearing they would corrupt young fans.

But the ambassador – who is in Liverpool after marking Holocaust Memorial Day there – is a big fan of the Beatles and would like them to be part of the planned birthday celebrations.

The invitation is being passed to the director of the city’s Beatles Story museum, Jerry Goldman.

Mr Goldman said: “I’ve got close ties to Israel, so I’m thrilled. It would be fantastic if they did visit.”

Liverpool is trying to develop cultural links with Israel, including the possibility of building a new museum dedicated to Jewish music.

Source: BBC

5 Responses

  1. I never heard of this ban! Too bad. I don’t really see Ringo and Paul going now, but…

  2. Did the Beatles ever consider playing Israel in the 60’s? I don’t remember any group playing there…maybe I’m wrong.

  3. they better go. if not, i refuse to buy any thing of theirs again. let’s ban paul, he’s looking very bad, ugly eyes, yuck.

  4. sorry

  5. To me it is necessary to find

Leave a Reply

