Review: Ringo Starr – Liverpool 8

There are many highly anticipated titles, both Beatle-related and non-Beatley (Yes, I listen to music other than The Beatles)  that I am anticiapting this year.  Ringo’s new album, Liverpool 8, is at the top of my list.  It looks to be a refreshing change to the Ringo sound.  Not that I didn’t like his releases with

Mark Hudson.  It just seemed that they all blended together.

It’s nice to see Ringo invigorating and changing his formula up a little bit.  I think we can look forward to good things to come from this album.  Yes, I think the USB bracelet is a little bit hokey, but the collector in me cannot wait to buy one.   

We are not fortunate enough to get an advanced copy of the album, but it looks like the early reviews are starting to filter out.  The album looks promising.  Much like Paul’s Memory Almost Full, Ringo is embracing his past, and acknowledging it while looking forward all at the same time.

Liverpool 8

Here’s what we’ve read.

Brand new on the Capitol/EMI label, Ringo Starr’s Liverpool 8 is bound to create a few waves – or at least some ripples – because it’s not only receiving some extensive promotions but is also being marketed in a number of ways. Available January 15th, it’s being released not only as a CD (or as digital downloads) but also as a pre-loaded USB wristband that includes video features, ring-tones, and photos.

The album is also tied to a concert in Liverpool, radio and TV features, and other promotional activities including special deals with everyone from Amazon to VH1. And of course, advance copies have been sent to music critics, which is where I come into the picture.

It goes without saying (a phrase that’s always followed by saying it anyway) that you can’t talk about Ringo without mentioning the Beatles. But everybody knows the history of the group and where Ringo fits into it, so I’m not going to go over all that again.

Obviously the album has a lot of connections with Ringo’s past – how could it not? In fact, the title song itself is obviously autobiographical, but I’d rather get into my impressions of the music itself, which is why we’re here. (Or at least, it’s why I’m here. I suppose it’s possible you just took a wrong turn somewhere.)

I didn’t find the title song particularly engaging but it does have some curiosity value, I suppose. Some of the other tracks did a better job of hitting the target with me. Among them was “Now That She’s Gone Away,” with a solid vocal from Ringo accompanied by a driving beat. Although he has a rather straightforward and unremarkable baritone, he does occasionally coax forth something a little different, and that variety helps sell that and other songs.

Good examples include “Gone Are The Days,” a tune that’s obviously evocative of a psychedelic past, and “If It’s Love That You Want,” which has a positively retro format that Ringo serves with relish. For something a little different yet, try the Latin guitar-backed sound of “Pasodobles.”

I had a couple of favorites besides those already mentioned. One was “Harry’s Song,” which has an unusual opening but then shifts gears and turns into a tune that includes a little bit of everything, including an echo and whistling. (Trust me – it sounds better than it describes.) I also found the closing track, “R U Ready,” delightfully playful and the perfect finish to an album that surprised me with its diversity.

1. Liverpool 8
2. Think About You
3. For Love
4. Now That She’s Gone Away
5. Gone Are The Days
6. Give It A Try
7. Tuff Love
8. Harry’s Song
9. Pasodobles
10. If It’s Love That You Want
11. Love Is
12. R U Ready?

Source: Blog Critics

7 Responses

  1. THis album looks very cool. I was never a big fan of Ringo’s solo career & I only like a few songs (Back off Boogaloo, It Don’t Come Easy, etc..) but the looks for this album is really remarkable. I don’t know if this is just me but on his website when they show the picture with all thr people around the car but I was wondering if that’s The Beatles in the car and the title “Liverpool 8” does have similarities. As for the album cover, personaly I like this one better than Paul’s “Memory Almost Full” (as far as covers go)

    I can’t say much for the music because I haven’t heard it yet but hell, it’s Ringo, he’s a wonderfull musician Beatles or no Beatles. I’ll def. buy this album when it hits stores.

  2. It’s on my ‘to do’ list to grab this one the day it comes out!!!

  3. oh yes, i will buy it on the forst day.

  4. being a Beatles fan for the past 30 yrs., is just a treasure having the chance to listen and following on their solo work, love the “Liverpool 8” song, heard it and made me imagine of how their days must have been like, wonder if John and George would’ve lent a hand on Ringo”s album

  5. Ringo’s video on Early this morning brought a couple tears to my eyes. thnks for the reviews. I grew up with the Beatles and with loss of George I guess I’m really getting sentimental. I had to get Love and …Almost Full asap. Same with Liverpool 8. Thank you Paul and Ringo for carrying on.

  6. i bought the cd, it is horrible. i broke mine in 2 pices, i hate you ringo.

  7. I loved the cd, it is one of ringo’s best.
    the title song is a great sing a long, destined to be a classic.
    my personal favorites are..

    liverpool 8
    think about you
    gone are the days
    pasadobles
    give it a try
    if it’s love that you want
    r u ready

    great cd, one of ringo’s finest.

Leave a Reply

