McCartney live in Paris on A&E this weekend.

Set your DVR’s ladies and gentlemen!  It looks like Paul is coming to a TV near you this weekend.  Paul’s recent surprise gig in Paris is hitting the small screen.  This article mentions that it is short on extras, but it is simply a a showing of the concert footage.  Which, I don’t presonally think is a bad thing.
There has been a ton of bootleg footage from all of Paul’s recent secret gigs throughout the year in his promotional efforts for Memory Almost Full, but this is a professionally shot concert, and the setlist simply looks stunning.  Check it out! 
What would your dream setlist look like for a Paul McCartney concert? 
Let us know in the comments below.
Here’s the complete setlist from the show:

Introduction

“Blackbird”

“Dance Tonight”

“Only Mama Knows”

“Flaming Pie”

“Got To Get You Into My Life”

“C Moon”

“The Long And Winding Road”

“I’ll Follow The Sun”

“That Was Me”

“Here Today”

“Calico Skies”

“Eleanor Rigby”

“Michelle”

“Band On The Run”

“Back In The USSR”

“House Of Wax”

“I’ve Got A Feeling”

“Live and Let Die”

“Hey Jude”

“Let It Be”

“Lady Madonna”

“I Saw Her Standing There”

Encore song added because of audience demand…

“Get Back”

Here’s what we’ve read.

If you’re reading this article, it probably has something to do with the fact that Paul McCartney’s name is in the headline.

In case you haven’t heard, A&E is going to broadcast a one-hour special at 10 p.m. Sunday called “Paul McCartney Live At the Olympia.”

The good news is that it’s unfettered concert footage. The bad news is that it’s unfettered concert footage and it’s only an hour long. The program is minimal – there are no extra features, no interviews. It’s just him and his music. Which isn’t a bad thing, exactly.

But it’s only an hour long. While you’ll get to hear classics like “Hey Jude,” “Got to Get You in My Life” and “Band on the Run,” you won’t hear “Get Back,” “Let it Be” or “Eleanor Rigby.” Instead, you’ll hear songs from his new album, Memory Almost Full (such as the wonderfully addicting “Dance Tonight”).

McCartney’s solo material usually sounds better live, while his performances of Beatles songs tend to lack the magic of the original recordings. While this program is fun to watch, it doesn’t offer viewers anything new.

Source: Boston NOW

3 Responses

  1. My dream setlist would also include I’m Carrying and Another Day.

  2. So I fell asleep with the t.v. on and it was on A&E. This morning I woke up to Paul McCartney singing “I love you, I love you, I loooooove you”. It was a great way to wake up but I would really like to know what the song was called. Hopefully someone will happen upon this page and be able to help me out=) thanks!

  3. Jenn,
    The song that goes “I love you, I love you, I looooooooove you”, is called Michelle.

Leave a Reply

