McCartney records album with his son.

You would think that this album would have happened years ago during the Flaming Pie era when Paul’s son was busy playing guitar on his father’s album.  I have been waiting a while to see and hear what Paul’s son had cooking in the studio.  I know that the Beatle son’s albums are sometimes hit and miss, but for the most part they draw heavily on the Fab Four influences.  I mean how could they not right?

I wouldn’t fault any one of the Beatles’ progency for sounding like their famous fathers.  It’s in their blood.  Their albums are always a surprise and quite interesting to me.  It’s as if they take what directly influences them, from their fathers, and combine it with what they are listening to.  The results are often brilliant. I wonder though if I would listen to their albums if I wasn’t such a hardcore Beatle fan.  This album would be a first though.  A Beatle-father collaborating with his son, on his son’s album.  It’s just a shame that this type of collaboration couldn’t have happened with Sean, Julian, and Dhani and their dads.

  • Which Beatle son is your favorite to listen to?  And which album is your favorite from them?
    Let us know in the comments below.  (My personal vote goes to Photograph Smile by Julian.)

Here’s what we’ve read.

Paul McCartney is hoping to launch his son James’ music career – by helping him record a debut album.

The 30-year-old drummer and guitarist – who is the former Beatles star’s son with first wife Linda – has already appeared on two of his solo albums, but is keen to launch his own LP.

McCartney, 65, says: “I’m actually doing some recording with my son. We’re just looking at the idea of him making an album. He’s doing it all. He’s writing it all, laying it all. It’s sensational. But there’s nothing set yet. We don’t know if it’ll work.

“The plan is for me to just do some recording with him, and it’s really exciting. I’m really loving it.”

Their studio efforts are expected to be released next year.

McCartney is the last Beatle to have a child with their own music career. Ringo Starr’s son Zak Starkey, 42, is the drummer for Oasis and The Who, John Lennon’s sons Sean, 32, and Julian, 44, are both solo artists and George Harrison’s son Dhani, 29, plays with his own band, thenewno2.

Source: Ireland On-line

11 Responses

  1. Photograph Smile is not only my favorite “offspring” album, but it ranks up there in my top 5 all-time discs!

  2. julian and dhani. sean’s new cd takes a lot of listens, too much yoko influence.

  3. ‘Valotte’ by Julian. It sounded fresh and hopeful. Plus it has the wonderful ‘Too Late For Goodbyes’.

  4. I’d have to go with Sean’s latest, Friendly Fire. What an amazing collection of songs.

  5. I love dhani & sean. i love sean’s “friendly fire” — it’s brilliant.

  6. Sean’s albums, Friendly Fire and Into the Sun, are definitely my favorite offspring albums… Although Julian’s “Day After Day” is wonderful, too…

  7. Sean’s Friendly Fire by far. It’s a masterpiece. I love Sean.

  8. I really like Sean Lennon’s latest album. It makes me want to investigate the other Beatles sons past albums.

  9. i have been listening to julian for quite a long time- i have to say valotte, and some of his later singles, esp. “saltwater”, which is a real classic-from ANYONE!!!!!!…..and of course, photograph smile is awesome. i have to say that friendly fire by sean is awesome, too, and i was surprised by that-why? don’t know why i was surprised, but i was, and f.f. is incredible, so beautiful…..i always feel so bad that john can’t hear these wonderful records- but who knows, maybe he can……..there is alot we don’t know……..but i think that the public at large is missing out on some superb music; it is true that we started listening to the sons of beatles because of the beatles connection. and these sons have enriched our lives with their music…..ever read julian’s blog (on myspace)? he is having some new music coming up, it seems…..oh, good!!

  10. I’m so excited for this. I’ve always been intrigued by James… I think his guitar work is amazing.

    My favorite kids are Sean, Dhani and Julian, but Julian was my first favorite. Photograph Smile, Help Yourself, Valotte, Into the Sun, Friendly Fire, and thenewno2 EP are big favorites of mine. I think it was so sweet when George collaborated on one of Julian’s songs. I also can’t wait for the full thenewno2 album.

  11. O.K., I’ll have to admit that while I try to keep up with all kinds of music, I haven’t heard much of the son’s of The Beatles. Since I’m here…I’ll go and have a listen. Then I can report back to you fine folks.

Leave a Reply

