McCartney reveals reason for Starbucks switch + VIDEO.

To me, this seems like old news.  I mean we’ve had nearly six months to digest a new album.  We’ve also had nearly six months to come to terms with the fact that the record industry is facing a time of changes.  I don’t think that general public really cares where they get their music, as long as they are getting it. 

I think artists have the same outlook.  As long as it’s getting out there and they are getting paid, no outlet is too outlandish.  When you have an artist as legendary as Paul McCartney pushing new ways of releasing his music, then you now that the tide is turning.  It will be interesting to see who else follows in the new non-traditional wake of releasing CD’s in the future, if in fact CD’s will still even be around.

We’ll have to wait and see.  As long as the music is good, it shouldn’t matter how it’s released, or where it is available.  We will find it.

Here’s what we’ve read.

Sir Paul McCartney has joined an ever-growing list of musicians breaking free of industry trends.

Instead of marketing his latest album through record shops The Beatles star chose coffee chain Starbucks as a launch pad for Memory Almost Full.

“My record producer knew a guy from Starbucks who was very keen to talk to me, he was a bass player, he was a big fan of mine so I talked to him”

“My record producer knew a guy from Starbucks who was very keen to talk to me, he was a bass player, he was a big fan of mine so I talked to him. He said ‘we love your record’ and he had such a passion I was like ‘wow’ I hadn’t heard that in a long time from a record company person.”

The Beatles are one of the few groups that have not allowed their catalogue to be legally available online.

But Macca revealed there may be hope yet for fans of the Fab Four who have converted to the world of music downloads.

He said: “We started of when you were making vinyl records and then they put everything on tape cassette and then it became CDs and now it’s downloading so for me it doesn’t make much difference.”

Source: ITN

Leave a Reply

