Julian Lennon talks upcoming projects on myspace blog.

In the not too recent past we had posted a story about Julian and Sean Lennon having a reunion of sorts while Sean was on tour in Europe.  I have received a few emails from several readers wondering just what Mr. Julian Lennon is up to these days.  It seems that in his semi-retirement/hiatus he’s been a busy fellow with several projects brewing.  A film, a new album, a remixed single (Saltwater….YES, one of my favorite Julian tracks), and a newly revamped website.  I guess taking some time out of the business has proved to be quite a rejuvinating business for Mr. Lennon. 

We loved Julian’s previous album Photograph Smile, and eagerly anticipate his newest release sometime this year.  Anyway, I’ve rambled on long enough.  I’ll let Julian tell you himself.  Check out all the latest Julian updates straight from his myspace blog.

Here’s what we’ve read.

Well Hello out there on Planet MySpace! Thought I’d drop you a line to say Hi! & tell you a little bit about what is & has been happening. I spent the last few year Living Life as normally as possible. Doing every day things in an everyday manner. I love going to Fresh Food Markets (Outside) an picking up what might be needed for Lunch &/or Dinner. I cook Literally everyday. I love to cook. I think it’s my first passion really. To me it’s very close to writing Music & Lyrics. I feel you have to add all the right ingredients to finally come up with something that not only I Love, but hopefully others will too! It’s a marriage of sorts. If everything is balanced correctly, then the end result should be Great! In many respects, it’s easy if you know how, but also it’s a question of Knowledge & Experience. You have to go through a lot to learn a lot. If you don’t challenge yourself in every aspect of your Life, you’ll never know what you’ve been missing, until it maybe too late to fully appreciate Life. Sorry, I’m blabbing on…..
Where was I!?!?! Ah yes, um…… I’m thinking about a doing a cook book at some point. I think I have about 20 or 30 original recipies, which have many influences from all over the World. I tend to experiment quite a lot, as I get bored with traditional cooking sometimes, so I try Fusion cooking a lot. i.e. I tend to blend alot of Indian & Thai spices with several of My dishes & they have a specific name for me, Tindian, obvious I know, but at least My friends know what they’re in for when I mention Tindian. Generally a Tindian would either be Chicken, but My Favorite is somethingI cook every Sunday for My friends – Leg of Lamb Tindian Pot Roast with a multitude of Veg as well, cooked in with the Lamb over 6 hours & fresh corriander, basil & Mint sprinkled over the dish, just before serving.
Mmm……… My mouth’s watering just thinking about it!

On another note, I’ve also decided to take up photography again. This came about after I joined Sean (My Brother) on the road. I just took My Camera along, on the tour bus & at the gigs & snapped away. It was only after I brought them up on My computer & saw & edited the shots that I felt I had an eye for it, which was further fuelled by the fact that everyone in the Band said what Great Pictures they were. Anyway, I’m not going to blow my own trumpet about it, but I am seriously thinking of doing a showing at a Gallery at some point & probably a book, maybe even posters!?!?! Who Knows!
I’ve also decided to give painting & sculpting a go again. I figured, if I don’t do it now, while I have the energy, strength & passion for it, I may never get around to it!
I’ve just decided, that it’s finally time for me to follow My Heart – Completely
And by doing so, I’ve never felt better or happier. I Love Life right now & all it has to offer. Carpe Dium, as they say! Don’t let a moment pass you by. The more you Love, the more Love returns to you. I know, because I’m Living it. I try to be as good a person as I possibly can be & I try to help those who need it.

I’ve just finished producing a Film, that’s been 10 years in the making. It’s called :
‘The Gathering” Return of the Whale Dreamers & if you fancy it, you can check out the Trailer at http://www.whaledreamers.com/ – So far, the Documentary has won 6 independant Film awards & is up for 2 more this month! The reviews have been more than positive & we’re hoping to have screenings at Cannes this year, one way or another.
It’s taken a lot of time & effort to get it off the ground, but we managed it. Very difficult when you’ve never done something like this before, but you’ve got to try & fortunately it’s paid off. The Film is, in simple terms, is a reminder about the good, the bad & the Evil that surrounds us everyday in Life & about the knowledge & Wisdom of Indigenous Tribes that needs to be passed on for generations to come, in order for us & every other species to survive in a time in which our world falling apart at the seems. It also tells the story of One Aboriginal Tribe’s plight & how they were considered extinct by the Australian Government & discusses their beliefs & Totems, which in their case is a Whale.
I decided to re-record ‘Saltwater’ as the Title Track for the Film, which has already won Best Music/Song in a Film, at one of the Festivals we attended. I felt that the original version, as much as I Love it, felt a little hopeless & I wanted to put a bit more positive energy into it, so it now has a Reggae feel & also I wanted to bring some of the film into the song, by adding Whale Song & Aboriginal Tribal Chants. I think I’ve done it justice, but I let you be the judge of that! Anyway, whatever happens, 100% of My earnings from it, are going to Greenpeace’s Ocean Defenders & to the Aboriginal Tribe, which appear in the Film & need help, as do many of the worlds Indigenous Tribes. (You can hear part of the song on the Whale Dreamer’s website, as well as a bit of the Video that accompanies it. Hopefully you’ll be able to hear & see the whole thing shortly. Just to let you know, part of the reason I did this, was because Greenpeace approached me to ask if they could use ‘Saltwater’ as their theme song & I thought it would be good for us all to be seen to be working together for the betterment of all.

Now, on to Music!
I decide to start writing again seriously about a year ago. (I never stopped really)
After I wrote & demoed over 30 New tracks, I thought, I might as well do something with these songs! So I slowly but surely started to put the Tracks together for real. I’m nearly finished. I’ve just got a few more vocals to do & get get some real strings on the tracks, finish the production, Mix & then get the album out to you!
I’ve had a few hold-ups along the way, as I was testing a new Studio system out & I’ve had nothing but problems, breakdowns & Computer crashes. So, I’ve had to change the whole system, which has taken a really big chunk of time out of my intended schedule. I was hoping to have the album done for a spring/summer release, but it was not to be, so, I’m back in the Studio next week & will hopefully have it ready for you before the end of the year. I will post a few pre-mixed tracks up for you to listen to, to get the general vibe of the album, in the next week or so & would welcome your thoughts on the New Songs. Personally, I think it’s the best writing I’ve done so far & I’m very proud of the work. Hope you like it!

As many of you may have noticed, My website has been put on hold. The reason it’s not ready to go yet, is because I’m trying to do something completley new & different. When the site is done, I truly believe it will be a one of a kind. There’s nothing out there right now, that could remotely compare to it. But I’m afraid you’ll have to be patient, as it probably won’t go online until the album’s ready for release. I can’t wait for you to see it! I’m very excited about it!

Well folks, My back is arched & aching from sitting here the last few hours writing this to you & it’s time for me to sleep. I’m not sure when I’ll get around to writing to you again, but I promise it won’t be too long. Probably when I upload a few of the new tracks up for you to listen to!?!?!
I will however be checking in from time to time to see what you’ve all been up to & what you’ve been saying about me behind my back! hee hee….. (Only Joking!)
Well, try to be positive, strong & happy & do something nice for someone every day, if you can. Even just saying Hello! to someone with a smile on your face, can brighten up the greyest of days.
Much Luv to all,
Jules x

P.S. My apologies for not being able to respond to everyone’s requests & questions. If there were more hours in a day, I would, if I could. Just know that, I thank you all, from the bottom of My Heart, for taking an interest in what I do. I really do appreciate it! Thanks.

P.P.S. There are many other projects that I’m involved with, that I’ll tell you about, as & when they come to fruition!

Source: Myspace blog

9 Responses

  1. GREAT JULIAN!!!i hope you’ll read my message for you i’m one of your daddy’s fans but when i saw you for the first time i thought you was the photocopy of your father!!and i loved even you ,instead!!!you are so positive,you sing so well,that sometimes i forget that you are Julian and think that you are John!!!that’s incredible,i know but ,yes it is!!! and i hope you will be always just as you are!please don’t change,NEVER!!!and i’m happy that you love your brother Sean,he’s younger than you and i think you can be a perfect teacher-brother for him!and i think your daddy is happy ,above ,in the sky when he looks at you both together!remember you will always have a fan:ME! 😉 love you Jude!xxx**Ulla**

  2. There’s alot of happiness in your “voice”, Julian. Looking forward to much more of your originality and creativity!

    Cynthia

  3. While reading your email, I could hear your voice and it was heavenly. I saw you at The Odeon in Cleveland, Ohio, and was spellbound.
    Photograph Smile premiered at a very bleak time in my life, however it helped me work things out in my head. And upon doing so, I began writing romance novels.
    I got so into my writing that one night I wrote a song where the lyrics consist only of titles of Beatle tunes. It’s kind of a hoot.

    Take care and bles you, Robin

  4. Hey

    I was surfing the web and i saw this site, pretty cool.
    Currently im running and adult site:Wellness
    k, just want to say hi 🙂
    Can i link you from my site? im looking for quality content like yours. If no let me know if i can add u in exchange for a montly fee or something.

  5. very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  6. hi . julian iam a singer song writer hope to post some songs for you to listen to,like your new stuff hope to here the album soon, my daughter is a big fan she his only 5,the puppert video she likes the best,by the way we have somethink IN COMMON MY DAD PLAYED AT THE CAVERN AT THE SAME TIME YOUR DAD PLAYED HE WAS IN MANY BANDS THE ONE THAT SITS ON THE WALL PROUDLY JUST UNDERNEATH IS CALLED THE RAVONS ALONG MATTEW STREET HAHA TAKE CARE MATE IAM TO PLAY MY OLD 12INCH OF STICK AROUND NOW,CHEERS AND PEACE FROM DAVE THE RAVE XXX

    • Hi,

      Noticed your old post to Julian Lennon. Just seeing if your still out there. I believe my uncle was also in The Ravons. So trying to get some info. My son’s playing The Cavern soon, it all comes round again!. Cheers.

  7. Very well thought out and informative. I’m sure many others enjoy reading this too, but are just a little scared to post – anyway – thanks again!

  8. plus offering extras which can announce this kind of the main benefit of the skepticism. gkfebkdabddd

Leave a Reply

