Paul McCartney wins at Classical Brits

I have been putting off listening to this album.  I simply have not been in a classical kind of mood. Well, yesterday, I decided to give the highly regarded album a little listen. You see I have been warming myself up for the new McCartney album.   On my way out of work I stocked up for a night of heavy errand running. (I work in a library, and didn’t have all the albums readily available in my car except for Chaos & Creation.) I grabbed Ecce Core Meum, Flaming Pie, Run Devil Run, and Driving Rain.  It’s been a long while since I listened to all of them back to back to back.  I played the whole Ecce Core Meum disc while running around town last night. 

McCartney - Best Album winner

I don’t know much about classical music, but I know what I like. It was pretty, I found it quite uplifting, and a fitting tribute to the lovely Linda.  I like to see Paul win this award, based on popular votes.  It makes it a little more real.  I’m glad to see that he beat out Sting, not that we have anything against Sting, but I’m just not a big fan of lute music.

Here’s what we’ve read.

Paul McCartney has won the Best Album award at the Classical Brit Awards for his fourth classical album ‘Ecce Cor Meum (Behold My Heart)‘.

Other artists competing in the same category included Sting, Katherine Jenkins, Alfie Boe and Bryn Terfel.

The award – the only one to be decided by public vote – was voted for by listeners of Britain’s Classic FM radio and readers of Classic FM’s magazine.

The former Beatle began writing ‘Ecce Cor Meum’ in 1997 but put the project on hold after the death of his first wife Linda the following year.

It was finally premiered at the Royal Albert Hall last November and recorded last year at Abbey Road Studios in London.

The Berlin Philharmonic and its conductor Simon Rattle won the Classical Recording of the Year award at the ceremony in London late Thursday.

Source: RPE

2 Responses

  1. once again,sir Paul shown us that the biggest singers of the past win again after so many years!younger singers must to learn something by these awesome examples in the world of music!MY SINCERE CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU SIR PAUL MCCARTNEY!!!LONG LIFE TO THIS “YOUNG BOY”!!!!!

  2. […] Paul wins classical Brit award. Earlier in the week we had posted a report that Paul had won a classical Brit award for his classical opus Ecce Cor Meum.  I know Paul has […]

Leave a Reply

