Beatles ready to click with charts again.

I know we have been hitting you over the head with all things Apple/Apple and all lately, but it is huge news, and great things are coming.  We can feel itlike the bitter winter cold.  See, all this Beatles itunes stuff is nice and all to me, but I for one, personally, am a artifact guy.  I love the artifact of the CD.  I need something to hold, I need something to scrutinize.  I love liner notes, and the smell of a brand new CD.

I own an old Rio mp3 player that hold 64 MB worth of music.  I listen to my podcasts on it.  I would love an ipod, but I am holding out.  I haven’t given up on my CD collection.  I missed the heyday of vinyl by a few decades, and I do collect, but I don’t reminisce about the warmth or anything like that.  I love digital download-able music, but I am in love with my CD’s.  Maybe my opinion will change once I actually join the ipod cult, but for now my 210 gig hard-drive is used to store my digitised collection, which I burn to CD’s to listen to in my car.  Maybe I need to join the revolution, but something is holding me back. 

I still need that artifact, that CD.  It’s a security thing to me.  What happens if my computer takes a crash (which it has), and I lose all those downloads (which I have 4,600 albums).  With my CD collection, I know they are not going anywhere.  I am exciting about all this digital nonsense, but I have some reservations.  Maybe a new ipod is just what I need to make the switch whole hearted.

Here’s what we’ve read.

They revolutionised Britain’s music industry, conquered America and now the Beatles are set to dominate the download charts after settling a trademark dispute with Apple computers.

Up until now, fans of the Fab Four have been unable to download their songs legally because of the disagreement over the use of an apple logo. Yesterday the band’s representatives reached a deal with Apple, which will now take full control of the Apple brand and license certain trademarks back to the Beatles’ record company, Apple Corps, for continued use.

The decades-old dispute has meant that the band’s songs were not legally available online, but the deal could pave the way for their anticipated appearance on iTunes, Apple’s download music store, and a return to the singles charts, which now includes downloads.

Steve Jobs, Apple’s chief executive officer, said: “We love the Beatles and it has been painful being at odds with them over these trademarks. It feels great to resolve this in a positive manner, and in a way that should remove the potential of further disagreements in the future.”

function pictureGalleryPopup(pubUrl,articleId) { var newWin = window.open(pubUrl+’template/2.0-0/element/pictureGalleryPopup.jsp?id=’+articleId+’&&offset=0&§ionName=Music’,’mywindow’,’menubar=0,resizable=0,width=615,height=655′); }

Mr Aspinall has already begun digitising the Beatles catalogue for online release, which would give the online market a major boost.

EMI, which owns the Beatles recordings, and representatives of the band, including Sir Paul McCartney and Yoko Ono, John Lennon’s widow, are locked in negotiations over the availability of the catalogue.

The Beatles set up Apple Corps in 1968 to release their songs and manage their creative affairs. It is still owned by Sir Paul, Ringo Starr, Ono and the estate of George Harrison.

The dispute with Apple dated back to 1980 when Harrison spotted an advert for Apple Computers in a magazine. The sides reached a deal a year later allowing Apple Computer to use the name as long as it stuck to computers.

As computers developed and their musical capabilities grew, the sides ended up in court in 1989, resulting in a new deal. They clashed again when Apple launched the iTunes download store in 2003, with the Beatles claiming that the computer company had encroached on its territory again.

Apple Corps lost a High Court ruling last year after a judge decided that iPod and iTunes had nothing to do with the creation of the music itself. EMI and Apple Corps declined to comment on the likely arrival of Beatles music on iTunes.

There was no indication when the band’s music would be available for download but one expert said with the sums involved, it would not be long.

Gene Munster, an analyst with Piper Jaffray & Co, an investment bank, said: “I bet they move pretty fast. For Apple, it was critical that they got this taken care of.” He guessed that Apple paid the Beatles up to $100 million (£50 million) for the rights to the name.

Mike Lynd, an intellectual property expert, said: “It is highly unusual to see the original owner of a trademark relinquish ownership.”

William Hill is offering odds of 8-1 that Hey Jude will be the first Beatles number one of the digital era, with Yesterday second favourite at 9-1, and She Loves You at 10-1.

Source: Times Online

Leave a Reply

