Beatles, or should I say Two-tles, to reunite in 2008?

There is a divided camp that says that if Paul and Ringo did play together it would be a Beatles reunion.  I don’t know where I stand on this one.  I mean it wouldn’t be a total Beatles reunion in-full, but it as close as we could get.  It would be magical to see, but a bit empty.  You’d hope that it would mean more to them then it would to us at least. 

Recently I watched the bootleg DVD of the Access Hollywood LOVE special.  I think it was the first time in history that the entire Beatles clan was assembled (with a few exceptions).  To me, that was truly an impressive sight.  Never before had the entire Beatles extended family been together for a family reunion.  It truly was a special event.  They were drawn together to celebrate the one thing that brought them all together to begin with.  It made me happy to watch as they laughed and joked together.

I guess having Paul and Ringo perform together on the same stage in Liverpool would be a sight to see, especially in their own backyards.  You know, Liverpool’s most famous native sons coming home to celebrate their homeland.  That would be something, if not a few years too late.  Hopefully they leave the video cameras running and we can catch it all on DVD.

Here’s what we’ve read.

Surviving former Beatles Paul McCartney and Ringo Starr look set to reunite to celebrate their home city Liverpool’s status of European Capital Of Culture in 2007.

McCartney has already been approached to perform at the opening ceremony – and now organisers want Starr to take part too.

A source reveals: “It’s already expected that Paul (McCartney) will be involved but to get Ringo to join him on stage would be the icing on the cake.

“It would certainly be a massive coup and quite emotional for people of a certain age to see the two surviving Beatles performing together in their home city for the first time since the mid-sixties.”

Source: IOL

8 Responses

  1. They should tour with Clapton in George’s spot and Sean in John’s.

    They should also invent a perpetual motion device and start a unicorn zoo.

  2. Hi! “By George(sorry for the pun!..no I’m not) I think he’s got it!!” The idea of Eric Clapton and Sean is the answer,as far as I’m concerned.I checked with a few of my Very local musician friends,and they also agree. I do believe that it would put a lot of pressure on Sean,though. He’s just coming to find himself. I also believe that Julian should not be forgotten,somehow.Sorry,I guess my Julian fan side is showing! I luv unicorns,nice touch……what about Pegasus too?!

  3. Me again! I seem to always be doing this,sorry.I do it with phone calls too.I’m trying to be better……….Anyhoo, I just wanted to say that the term “Two-tles” is wonderful!

  4. Maybe it should be Bea-twos?

  5. Well it wasn’t the first time in history the whole clan came together in public. They all showed up for the Concert For George film opening in LA.

  6. If they were to do a reunion of sorts, they should bring in Dhani and either Julian or Sean.

  7. I think that the Beatles should reunite and record a brand new album before it is too late. They could then tour on the back of that album. The new Beatle line up should be:

    Paul McCartney, Ringo Starr, Julian Lennon, Dhani Harrison and Pete Best.

    This would be the closest thing to an authentic Beatles reunion. The last three surviving Beatles and the two most talented offsprings! Julian sounds exactly like his dad. The album would be fantastic.

  8. Actually scratch that. The perfect Beatles reunion lineup would have to be:

    Paul McCartney, Ringo Starr and Pete Best.

    That is the combination that works because they are the only three official members still alive. I’m not sure how Ringo would feel about it. Heck, who cares, it will never happen anyways.

Leave a Reply

