VIDEO: Fancy yourself a guitar player??? Tommy Emmanuel does the Beatles on guitar.

I am a guitar player, and I thikn I’m not too bad, but there are people that come around and truly WOW you with their skill.  It makes me want to simply quit the instrument, yet at the same time it inspires me to play even more.  So frustrating.

One of our loyal readers has sent in a link of a performer, Tommy Emmanuel, who is simply stunning!  The guy who sent me the links had this to say, and I agree with him:

I don’t know him and I’m usually not a big fan of musicians singing or re-mixing songs of the Beatles for the main reason that I think, most of the time, the new and modified version doesn’t reach as far as the original one in terms of “spirit” and what I’d call “musical power.”

I’m not a huge fan of Beatle-cover projects, but this guy is totally amazing.  Great guitar work, and he definitely takes some risks with some arrangements and medleys.

You can watch a high quality video here.

Tommy Emmanuel- When I’m 64-A Taste of Honey-Day Tripper-Lady Madonna MEDLEY

Tommy Emmanuel-Shows how he plays Day Tripper-Lady Madonna

Thanks to Aurelien for the links!

3 Responses

  1. This guy is absolutely awesome!

  2. Nice, second one too! I hadn’t seen that one yet. Oh, and just for the record, I’m a “he” 🙂

  3. I’ve been lucky enough to see Tommy perform in the past. Seeing him live is a totally different experience to his CDs and DVDs. The guy is just that good.

Leave a Reply

