Yoko Ono : My Work

It looks like the awesome billboards, and Miss L. are still up and running down south with a twist.  The power of words is amazing.

photos 

“I contacted Yoko Ono through L. Brandon Krall, the curator of Word, the show currently at my gallery. The show is about the power of language to make meaning.

“Brandon and I have worked together for about six years and she suggested Yoko’s art. The billboard is a piece Yoko Ono created in New York City after 9/11.

try{OAS_AD(‘Middle’);}catch(e){}

rdm=Math.random()*10000000+10000000; if(typeof(Ads_entr)==’undefined’) Ads_entr=’nocat’; document.write(”);

“We worked with CBS Outdoor to get just the right place for it because we wanted it in a high-traffic area. We were able to rent a commercial billboard on I-45 and I-10 East going into downtown Houston, so it works with the beauty of the downtown skyline. It’s 14 feet by 48 feet, so it’ll be visible to thousands of commuters every day through Oct. 20.

Imagine Peace speaks on so many levels: peace in your own being, peace in your relationships or global peace. It also comes back to John Lennon’s song Imagine. It’s simple but powerful. It’s not confrontational, but it’s about promoting change.

“I sponsored the billboard myself because it was something I absolutely had to do. Through my gallery I’m trying to help create a better world through art. I’m a mother: I have a 21-year-old and a 13-year-old. I want the next generation to have a better world.”

Source: Chron

One Response

  1. Before there can be world peace, we must calm the war of words between the right and left in the United States.

    There is too much hate in the U.S.over political differences among U.S. citizens. The Beatles were for peace, but in Revolution they protest supporting those “with minds that hate.”

    BTW:
    Does anybody know who I can get in touch with to get permission to release this song worldwide? It’s from my forthcoming CD, RUBBER stamp my SOUL, which will be mostly original songs about the Beatles and their music.

    HEY JUDE: Dr. BLT’s BeaTLes cover
    [audio src="http://www.drblt.net/music/heyJudeOne.mp3" /]

Leave a Reply

