AUDIO: Meet the Beatle Barkers

A few regular readers had commented and sent me e-mails saying that the links for the alternate White Album post are dead.  I know not everyone was able to get their hands on it, and our friend at the He’s a Whore blog has called it quits. 

In light of some of you missing out on the White Album outtakes from two days ago, I thought I would post some audio links to the wonderful novelty album Meet the Beatle Barkers.  While not Beatle boots, it is an interesting take on the Beatle novelty album.  I know some of you need your nearly-daily Beatle audio fixes.  Plus, the cover totally ROCKS!  What no Hey Bulldog???

I listened to it once, and saved it to my hard drive in case I ever needed it on a mix compilation or something.  Enjoy, and have a great weekend!

Meet the Barkers

(Links to mp3’s are under the cut.)

Continue reading

Unreleased Lennon Cuts Enrich Documentary Soundtrack

The soundtrack to the upcoming documentary “The U.S. vs. John Lennon” will be released on CD and digitally Sept. 26 via Capitol/EMI. The album will feature 19 original Lennon songs including “Imagine,” “Instant Karma (We All Shine On)” and “Happy Xmas (War is Over),” as well as two previously unreleased tracks: “Attica State,” recorded live at the John Sinclair Freedom Rally in Ann Arbor, Mich., in 1971, and the film’s instrumental version of “How Do You Sleep.”

Additionally, the CD and digital packaging will include liner notes written exclusively for the release by Lennon’s widow, Yoko Ono.

Continue reading