Excerpts from Pattie Boyd’s book surface with VIDEO interview.

It looks like the tell-all Beatle book of the year is ramping up the PR machine with a release coming later this month.  One of the most intriguing and heartbreaking sagas of the Beatle story is surfacing in the form of a tell-all book.  Yes folks, if you don’t already know about it, Pattie Boyd has written her tale of being the wife of a Beatle and a lover of rock superstars.

The story is staggeringly heartbreaking and somewhat sweet to me when I think of it.  I know it’s totally a romantic view of a sorted tale, but that’s the impression that I get about the muse’s lovers triangle.  It looks like we can all get a sneak peek at a few chapters of the story courtesy of the UK Mail online.  It looks like to be a good read for fans who want to hear an often silent view of the Beatle’s inner circle.  Well have to wait a little longer to read Eric Clapton’s biography which is also coming soon.  I’m sure that he’ll have something to say about his relationship with Pattie and George alike.

Also, the Times in running a video interview with Pattie about the book as well.  Check out the video here. (The video opens in Windows Media Player.)

  • Click here to read ‘My hellish love triangle with George and Eric’ – Part One
  • Click here to read ‘My hellish love triangle with George and Eric’ – Part Two

Here’s what we’ve read.

Intimate details of the emotionally fraught love triangle between George Harrison, his first wife Pattie Boyd and her lover Eric Clapton are revealed today for the first time.

For more than 35 years Pattie has refused to talk about the affair with Clapton which ripped apart her marriage and inspired him to write Layla – about a man who falls hopelessly in love with a woman who loves him but is unavailable.

Now, in her new book, Wonderful Today, which is serialised in today’s Review, she finally describes how after years of mutual anguish which pushed Clapton to the brink of a drug-induced breakdown, she eventually left Harrison to marry Clapton.

She tells how her affair with the guitarist started in 1970 after he played Layla to her for the first time, six years after she started seeing Harrison.

She said: “We met secretly at a flat in South Kensington. Eric had asked me to come because he wanted me to listen to a new number he had written. He switched on the tape machine, turned up the volume and played me the most powerful, moving song I had ever heard. It was Layla.

“He played it to me two or three times, all the while watching my face intently for my reaction. My first thought was, “Oh God, everyone’s going to know this is about me.”‘

was married to Eric’s close friend George Harrison, but Eric had been making his desire for me clear for months.

“But with the realisation that I had inspired such passion and creativity, the song got the better of me. I could resist no longer.”

Later that day, Clapton confronted Harrison and said: “I have to tell you, man, that I’m in love with your wife.”

She said: “George was furious. He turned to me and said, “Well, are you going with him or coming with me?”’

She also describes how Clapton then disappeared in a drug-induced haze when she refused to break up her marriage for him, and details Harrison’s many affairs, including one with the wife of fellow Beatle Ringo Starr.

In 1973, Clapton renewed his ardent pursuit of Pattie – climaxing in an extraordinary ‘duel’ at the Harrisons’ home. “As Eric walked through the door George handed him a guitar and amp and for two hours, without a word, they duelled. The general feeling was that Eric had won.”

In 1974, she made her choice: “Would I go to Eric, who had written the most beautiful song for me, who had been to hell because of me and who had worn me down with his protestations of love?

“Or would I choose George, my husband, whom I had loved but who had been cold towards me? I told George I was leaving him. I said a tearful goodbye and flew to America [where Eric was touring].”

Source: UK Mail

7 Responses

  1. wow. being a total george girl, this will probably be a little heartbreaking to read, but i am very much looking forward to this book coming out. i’d love to hear her side of things.

  2. So this is what it has come down to. It’s no longer the music or the performance or the art. It’s just the dirt. Who’s sleeping with whom. Exposing our idols and rieveling that they are just as human as the next guy. Taking pot shots at former famous lovers that can no longer defend themselves. Writing books about how slutty they were no matter who is involved for only one purpose…$$$$.

    Imagine if it were your mother writing a book about how she was sleeping with all these rock stars, and you have to go back to school in September to face your classmates.

    This sort of behavior would go totlally unnoticed if George or Eric were not involved.

    Pattie has sold her dignity for a few bucks…shame on her.

  3. [...] Clapton’s ex got her revenge – with a little help from George Harrison It looks like Pattie Boyd’s new book is stirring all kinds of waters for the our beloved George Harrison.  It seems kind of [...]

  4. [...] If you need to catch up on previous reports, and book excerpts regarding Pattie Boyd’s upcoming book, check them out here. [...]

  5. sold HER DIGNITY HEATHER MILLS STANDS TO GET 70 MILLION FROM PAUL FOR A LOUSY FOUR YEARS OF MARRIAGE. PAUL WAS A GREAT HUSBAND ETC.
    THIS POOR THING DIDNT GET ANYTHING FROM EITHER OF THE TWO.

    IM GLAD FOR PATTIE SHE DESERVES THE MONEY FOR ALL SHE ENDURED UNLIKE MILLS!!!!!!!!!

    MATTER OF FACT SHE SHOULD RE-OPEN THE DIVORCE WITH EL CLAPO AND CLEAN HIM OUT AFTER ALL THE BULL HE PUT HER AND GEORGE THROUGH AND THEN TURNS AROUND AND ACTS LIKE A TOTAL JERK.

  6. Pattie Boyd was my heroine growing up in the 1960’s–I wanted to look like her, dress like her, and marry George Harrison! Little did we know her life was not as idealic as it looked. Pattie is still gorgeous and a class act. I look forward to reading her side of the story.

  7. joefo, on August 8th, 2007 at 9:06 pm Said:

    “So this is what it has come down to. It’s no longer the music or the performance or the art. It’s just the dirt… Writing books about how slutty they were no matter who is involved for only one purpose…$$$$…Pattie has sold her dignity for a few bucks…shame on her.”

    Well, unfortunately, you have to admit, that IS what sells…most people WANT to read about the dirt, or NO one would be BUYing the books. So, hers should sell like hotcakes! They say that there is a book in each of us, well, this is Pattie’s–like it or not. Her modelling days are over, so the poor girl has to make a buck doing SOMEthing to bring in the money!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

